Non Sequitur

Like an answer that bird
flashed round the corner
to a prayer unprayed.

I started, and stopped.
It thrummed there a moment,
alight, aflame, a vibrating string,
a glittering thing unlooked for,
a free green gift, inviting thanks.

I tried. I said sincerely, “Lord,
this extra grace is precious; bird,
I do not deserve this emerald word!”

But to my shame I thought,
“Oh Lord, and the prayers I prayed?
Do they matter or not?
You knew, you saw my face
when you took away so soon
what I thought you gave.”

Leave a Reply

