Court in Carmana

(A poem from my project, “Towards Westness”)

You can get an audience
with the West near the coast.

I have been to court in Carmana,
the old growth of empire
grown great with green,
rain-rich and extravagant
in its giving: seeds, berries, leaves
like nothing – silver to Solomon –
treasures forged by heat of sun
and tempered with Pacific mist.

I thought to pay tribute,
but came away with a gift:
wickerwork entelechy,
this light wooden flower
intricate, fully open,
its petals stiff and ridged,
a cone held in cupped hands
upside-down a stylized pine.

2 thoughts on “Court in Carmana

  1. Heidi says:

    Entelechy is an excellent word.

    I think my favourite part is:
    “the old growth of empire
    grown great with green,
    rain-rich and extravagant
    in its giving”

  2. jemzlinde says:

    Thanks 🙂 I am proud of that part. The empire bit probably occured to me after you introduced me to Taliessin through Logres. Only just encountered entelechy last semester in the class on medieval lit, and my prof used the word unfolding when he was distinguishing it from some other word (emergence, maybe), which is a nice way of thinking about cones and trees.

Leave a Reply

